Image of Discovery Elementary School

From the Office:

Discovery Families,

 Due to unforeseen delays with construction on 60th Street AND the school's parking lot, we are postponing the Discovery Open House until Thursday, August 25th.  Open House will start at the scheduled time of 5:30 p.m. and end at 7:00 p.m.   We look forward to welcoming students to the first full day of school on Monday August 22.

* If you are concerned about your student carrying their supplies on Monday, you are welcome to bring those supplies to the open house on Thursday, 8/25.

 

 

 

Welcome to Discovery Elementary

We strive to touch the lives of children in a way that prepares them to take their place as citizens with high academic skills and fine moral character.

Vision for Discovery

Discovery staff will have high expectations for all.

The school will be a place where:

  • Children take their jobs as learners seriously.
  • Staff are professionals who go the extra mile to support children in this journey of learning.
  • Parents feel welcome and are given opportunities to be involved in their child's education.
  • There is an academic environment that teaches the whole child and treats children with dignity.
  • We all get better each day.

 

 

2022

August 22 Monday First Day of School – Full Day 9:00–3:55 pm

August 25 Thursday Elementary Open House 5:30-7:00 pm

September 2 Friday NO SCHOOL

September 5 Monday NO SCHOOL

September 13 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6:00pm

September 21 Wednesday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal  

September 22 Thursday Picture Day

October 5 Wednesday Count Day

October 10-14 Monday-Friday Spirit Week

October 11 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6:00pm

October 14 Friday EKHS Homecoming

October 24-28 Monday-Friday Scholastic Book Fair

October 26-27 Wednesday-Thursday Fall Parent Teacher Conferences

October 26 Wednesday Full Day of School, Conferences 4:00-8:00pm

October 27 Thursday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal 

Mobile Dentist

Conferences 1:00-8:00pm

October 28 Friday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal 

Mobile Dentist

October 31 Monday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal 

Harvest Festival 11:00am

November 1 Tuesday Mobile Dentist

November 8 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6:00pm

November 10 Thursday Picture Retakes

November 23 Wednesday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal

November 24-25 Thursday-Friday NO SCHOOL – Thanksgiving Break

December 5-9 Monday-Friday PTC Holiday Shop

December 5 Monday 5th Grade Parent Reproductive Health Meeting 

at Glenwood, 6pm

December 13 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6:00pm

December 16 Friday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal

Holiday Parties 11:00am

December 19, 2022-Jan 2, 2023 NO SCHOOL – Winter Break

2023

January 2, 2023 Monday NO SCHOOL – Winter Break

January 3 Tuesday Classes Resume

January 9-12 Monday-Thursday KCHD Vision and Hearing Screens

January 10 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6pm

January 16 Monday NO SCHOOL – PD for Staff

January 30-31 Monday-Tuesday KCHD Re-screens

February 8 Wednesday Count Day

February 14 Tuesday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal

Valentine's Parties 11:00 am

February 14 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6:00pm

February 20-21 Monday-Tuesday NO SCHOOL - Mid-Winter Break

March 2 Thursday Kindergarten Round-Up 7:00 pm

March 7 Tuesday 5th Graders Visit Middle Schools 

March 14 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6:00pm

March 16 Thursday 5th Grade Parent Middle School Visitation  6:30pm

March 27-30 Monday-Thursday Scholastic Book Fair

March 27-28 Monday-Tuesday Spring Parent Teacher Conferences

March 27 Monday Full Day of School, Conferences 4:00-8:00pm

March 28 Tuesday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal

Conferences 1:00-8:00pm

March 29 Wednesday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal

March 30 Thursday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal

March 31 Friday NO SCHOOL - Spring Break

April 2-7 Monday-Friday NO SCHOOL - Spring Break

April 10 Monday Classes Resume

April 18 Tuesday Kindergarten Visitation

May 1-5 Monday-Friday Teacher Appreciation Week

May 9 Tuesday PTC Meeting, 6:00pm

May 12 Friday PTC Fun Run

May 26 Friday Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal

May 29 Monday NO SCHOOL - Memorial Day

June 2 Friday Last Day of School – Half Day – 11:55am Dismissal


 

Morning Procedures

School Begins 9:00am

Dismissal 3:55pm

Half Day Dismissal 11:55 pm

**Students can be dropped off no earlier than 8:45am. 

Attendance:

If you are bringing your student in late, please make sure you come into the office to sign them in so we know your child is safe and accounted for.

If your student will be absent for any reason please make sure you let the office know so we can account for the absence. P: 616-871-1081

Transportation Changes:

If there will be a change in your student’s dismissal plan, please let the office know by 3:00 at the latest, so we have adequate time to get the message to teachers.

 

Reminders:

Pants/Shorts: If you have gently used shorts  or pants (size 6 and up) that you would like  to donate to Discovery, we will gladly take  them! We are in desperate need of larger  sizes for boys—8-14.